Finished Objects and… not so finished objects

Hey there, lovely! I have some fun things to show you.

Apparently, I have been in love with fair isle berets without knowing it.

Image

Tasha Moss’s Victory Hat

I finished my first fair isle beret in September and just adore it. It is a 1940’s beret from none other that Susan Crawford’s A Stitch in Time Volume 2. I opted out of a fourth color, sticking with the grey, black, and purple colors for a winter palette. Every time I put it on, I feel like I should throw on my Land Girl pants and go milk a cow after scraping the frost off my milking bucket. I am in love.

Image

Image

Image

Linky to my ravelry page with more information here.

The other hat I made was a test knit for Tasha over at bygumbygolly! She is such an inspiration to me. If you have never read her blog, leave this page immediately and immerse yourself in her vintage-crafty life. When I got the email to be a test knitter for her first self-published pattern, I nearly fell out of my chair. I feel so honored that she turned to me to be a test knitter for her beret inspired by the end of WWII, I made an exception in my vintage knitting. I absolutely love this pattern! It is so well written and the motifs are clever and well thought out. Check out Tasha’s Knit for Victory Knit-a-Long too, which I will be joining.

Image

Image

Image

Photo credit goes to roommate and photographer extraordinaire Michael Banh.

And now, for the not so finished pieces.

Image

I mentioned in my last post about plans for Operation: Finish! in which I finish the four non-finished garments I have started during my year of vintage knitting. Because I also have 11 knitted Christmas gifts going at the same time, my deadline is December 31st. Some only need part of a sleeve, others need a bit more. But I have a good feeling that I can get them done by my deadline!

Image

xoxo

Sydney

11 thoughts on “Finished Objects and… not so finished objects

  1. love your berets. i’m challenging myself and knitting up the victory tam as well. i orderd the yarn kit from susan crawford as i am not confident enough picking out my own colors. you have a lot on your plate! knit, knit like the wind!

  2. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say is
    fundamental aand everything. Nevertheless just imagine if you
    added some great photos or video clips to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this blog could certainly be one of the
    most beneficial in its niche. Terrific blog!

  3. After I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are
    added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I recieve four emails
    with the exact same comment. There has to be an easy
    method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

Leave a comment