Nightmare on Yarn Street

It happened. I told myself it would never happen. I said to myself,

No, that only happens to knitter’s who don’t pay attention;

You’re an experienced knitter, you know how much to get;

Don’t worry, this will be plenty.

Well folks, I’m here to tell you that I made one of the most fundamental knitting mistakes: I didn’t buy enough yarn.

Image

Not only did I run out of yarn, I ran out when I only had one teeny tiny sleeve cap left. That’s right, everything else was knit up, button band and all, all I had was a couple of inches of sleeve cap.

Image

This 1936 cardigan is what I call a “sad-girl-cast-on.” My friend (and also my fabulous photographer) Michael and I have been house hunting for months, and we thought we finally found our dream place. The upstairs of a gorgeous 1893 home. Yes, you heard me, 1893. I was in love, it was perfect in every way. Long story short, we didn’t get it. I was probably more torn up than I should have been, but I knew the cure: cast on something. Cast on something you’ve been really wanting to knit. Disregard all other WIPs, disregard the fact that it’s 95 degrees and you’re wanting to knit with Shetland wool, just do it.

Image 

So I did. But, as you can see, it backfired. Oh yes, did I mention I got the yarn out of town, a year ago? I will get the yarn by mail order or online, but it won’t be the same dyelot. And lastly, to be frank, I don’t really want to be knitting on this! It didn’t come out the way I thought it would, and the Shetland started getting to me. It was never a good idea to knit on this in the same room as my madelinetosh stash, as I would all too often look over longingly at the merino, cashmere blends, hand dyed colorways… excuse me as I wipe some drool away.

I have some other WIPs going at the moment, I will give you a small teaser picture of them, and hopefully one or two of them will be up soon in a finished object blog post.

Image

 

And, in case you were all wondering, Michael and I found a wonderful 1950’s duplex that we just adore. I am currently getting the rest of my yarn packed up as I move in officially tomorrow!

Image

xoxo

Sydney

 

9 thoughts on “Nightmare on Yarn Street

  1. That’s so frustrating to run out of yarn! And I’m sorry you didn’t get the place. If it’s any consolation, I live in the top floor of an old house from 1908, and it’s insanely hot in the summer and so cold that I slept with a hat on in the winter. The building has a ton of character, but it’s not always the most fun to live in.

    • Sleeping with a hat on, it must have been quite cold then! Our place that we ended up in is really cute, and I think we ended up with a better choice for us. Not to mention I have three closets where as the other place we only had one closet to share.
      p.s. LOVE your new pullover pattern my dear, so cute!

  2. Did you try Ravelry for the right dye lot? You might be able to find someone who has it who is willing to sell. You need so little that you might luck out and find someone who has it left over from an already completed project. Good luck!

  3. Is this the yarn you found in Bandon? Maybe someone else from the group bought some of the same. Post it on the SH Rav group. I’m sure your sweater will turn out just fine. Have fun in your new home. I know you will give it your special touch.

  4. Don’t worry; it isn’t just you who is making terrible yardage choices. I recently did the same thing. I am currently most of the way through the body of a Catkin sweater and have come to grips with the fact that I am definitely not going to have enough yarn to finish even 3/4 sleeves. I had the amount of yardage called for in the pattern but it is literally EATING yarn. I even cut out 4″ (FOUR INCHES!) of length from the body and still I can see the end of my yarn reserves. Thankfully I can still get some from England, though it may not necessarily be the same dye lot. And then once again I’ll have another 800 yards or so of fingering weight yarn to figure out what to do with!

    • Oh my goodness, you cut off 4 inches and you still are running low on yarn?! That’s crazy! Well, on the bright side, you’ll get to day dream about a fun new project with your leftovers. 🙂

  5. Oh, I’m sorry about the yarn and the flat! It sucks to run out of yarn, especially when you were that close to finishing it. Perhaps putting it away and knitting on something else nice will help you decide what to do about it? I’d also suggest what Susan, in a comment above, did – try Ravelry for the right dyelot, you could be lucky! Hope your new place is nice, looking forward to hearing about that and your other knitting adventures.

Leave a Reply

